Hobo Photo Of The Day – High Life

IMG_20170730_025634_052.jpg

Kids, don’t try this at home.

I took this shot from the top of a 200 ft tower crane at about 3 am in downtown Kitchener, Ontario, Canada.

One night, I just did it.

I got dressed in all black, walked the area several times, checking for security or other dirty hobos in the area that might cause a problem. After arguing with myself and almost backing out several times, I found the never, hopped through the fence and found my way to the base of the crane. There was a fence around it and a locked door, I almost turned back but I managed to find a spot where I could climb over the fence and onto the outside of the crane. Then, all I had to do was carefully climb around the corner and onto the platform inside.

At this point, I was already nervous as hell and my legs felt a little bit shaky, I was only maybe 20 feet up and still had a long way to go. I steadied my nerves and started up the first ladder. One rung at a time, I could feel the wind get stronger with every step. I had to shut my mind off and just focus on climbing. By the time I got to the top, I hadn’t noticed how high I’d gotten. I looked down and saw the cars and buildings dwarfed by the height below me. I had a brief flash of vertigo and had to hold onto the railing for a few minutes.

I relaxed. I looked around, took in the view and let go. I walked out onto the back of the crane and felt the wind cool my every pore.

I felt high.

I was high. The adrenaline pumping from my heart to the tips of my arms and my legs. My greatest fear shrunk. I felt alive.

 

Leave a Reply

